Mentors: The Supers of the World

Early on, I contacted a few friends who I knew were actively employed as developers or who have connections with such. Granted, all of them were at different stages of life. Some were too busy, some were not. Family life, work, interest in mentoring. These were all factors. So I had to respect their time and interest in sharing the world of code and tech with me. I was grateful for any help and advise that came my ways. But, the difference was, I sought out others…like crazy!

There was one who told me flat out that he was interested in mentoring me. He first told me, “Trust me and do everything that I tell you.” I thought, “what did I have to loose at this point.” And that was one of the best decisions I’ve made along my journey. He hasn’t failed me yet.

Find a mentor, the right mentor. One who is unbiased, objective, and interested in your development. Choose one that will tell you things that will challenge you, as well as your thinking and habits. Even Thomas Edison had a team.

Rock the mentors!!! And tell them “Thank you” a thousands times. They are the Supers of the world.

One thought on “Mentors: The Supers of the World

  1. […] found a mentor who taught him some of the tools of the trade, industry trends and standards, workflows, […]

    Like

Leave a comment